Lake Superior Zoological Society

EIN 41-0944885

The Lake Superior Zoo is owned by the City of Duluth and operated by the Arrowhead Zoological Society (DBA Lake Superior Zoological Society), a nonprofit 501(c)(3) charitable organization. The society operates the zoo for the benefit of the city according to a city contract as set out in Minnesota Laws 1961, Chapter 91 and Duluth legislative code, Parks and Recreation, Article II. Fairmount Park Zoo, Sec. 35-10. The society receives an annual subsidy for the zoo of about $670,000; $510,000 of which is appropriated to the zoo by the Duluth City Council from tourism taxes.

Board of Directors 2023

Joey Engseth, President

Susan Waldie, Vice President

Kala Pedersen, Secretary

James Lewis, Treasurer

Maya Mattke

Kathleen Privette

Mike Polzin

LauraLee Raukar

Britta Schielke

Jacob Zikmund

Emeritus Board Member

Tim Meininger

John Scott

Russ Smith

Ex Officio – City of Duluth Parks and Recreation Representative

Jessica Peterson

Honorary Members

Stephen Lewis

Mark McShane

Chief Executive Officer

Haley Hedstrom

Senior Management Team

Lizzy Larson, Director of Animal Management

Sarah Wilcox, Director of Education/Preschool Director

Heidi Beal, Director of Business Operations

Samantha Halligan, Director of Guest Experience

Lake Superior Zoological Society on GuideStar.org

Read our Annual Report

Read our Strategic Plan

Read our Master Plan

Read our Conservation Plan

Read our Operating Contract


Lake Superior Zoological Society
7210 Fremont St, Duluth, MN 55807

Phone: (218) 730-4500 Email: Board of Directors

Staff Directory